Wimbledon 2019 - Seeds List

Wimbledon NOTICE: Below shows the 2018 seeds. 2019 seeds will be announced approximately one week before the tournament begins.

Seeds for the Wimbledon gentlemen's and ladies' singles tournament are as follows:


Gentlemen's Singles

Ladies' Singles

1. Roger Federer (SUI)
2. Rafael Nadal (ESP)
3. Marin Cilic (CRO)
4. Alexander Zverev (GER)
5. Juan Martin Del Potro (ARG)
6. Grigor Dimitrov (BUL)
7. Dominic Thiem (AUT)
8. Kevin Anderson (RSA)
9. John Isner (USA)
10. David Goffin (BEL)
11. Sam Querrey (USA)
12. Novak Djokovic (SRB)
13. Milos Raonic (CAN)
14. Diego Schwartzman (ARG)
15. Nick Kyrgios (AUS)
16. Borna Coric (CRO)
17. Lucas Pouille (FRA)
18. Jack Sock (USA)
19. Fabio Fognini (ITA)
20. Pablo Carreno Busta (ESP)
21. Kyle Edmund (GBR)
22. Adrian Mannarino (FRA)
23. Richard Gasquet (FRA)
24. Kei Nishikori (JPN)
25. Philipp Kohlschreiber (GER)
26. Denis Shapovalov (CAN)
27. Damir Dzumhur (BIH)
28. Filip Krajinovic (SRB)
29. Marco Cecchinato (ITA)
30. Fernando Verdasco (ESP)
31. Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE)
32. Leonardo Mayer (ARG)

1. Simona Halep (ROU)
2. Caroline Wozniacki (DEN)
3. Garbiñe Muguruza (ESP)
4. Sloane Stephens (USA)
5. Elina Svitolina (UKR)
6. Caroline Garcia (FRA)
7. Karolina Pliskova (CZE)
8. Petra Kvitova (CZE)
9. Venus Williams (USA)
10. Madison Keys (USA)
11. Angelique Kerber (GER)
12. Jelena Ostapenko (LAT)
13. Julia Goerges (GER)
14. Daria Kasatkina (RUS)
15. Elise Mertens (BEL)
16. Coco Vandeweghe (USA)
17. Ashleigh Barty (AUS)
18. Naomi Osaka (JPN)
19. Magdalena Rybarikova (SVK)
20. Kiki Bertens (NED)
21. Anastasija Sevastova (LAT)
22. Johanna Konta (GBR)
23. Barbora Strycova (CZE)
24. Maria Sharapova (RUS)
25. Serena Williams (USA)
26. Daria Gavrilova (AUS)
27. Carla Suarez Navarro (ESP)
28. Anett Kontaveit (EST)
29. Mihaela Buzarnescu (ROU)
30. Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova (RUS)
31. Shuai Zhang (CHN)
32. Agnieszka Radwanska (POL)


Seedings: Background Info

You will notice that while the ladies' list follows the WTA Tour rankings, the gentlemen's list does not follow the ATP World Tour rankings.

While we cannot explain why the All England Club decided to introduce a separate rule for men only, we can help you to understand the process.

For many years the All England Club had what they call a 'seedings committee' who decided, behind closed doors, where the men would be seeded. This caused a lot of confusion (and suspicion) and so was replaced in 2001 with a 'formula' for grass court seeding which openly gave men who had performed better on grass in previous years a higher seeding.

The formula currently used is to double the grass court points a player earned for the previous year, and then add 75% of the highest points gained from their most successful grass court tournament two years ago. These two numbers would then be added to their official ranking and the totals would be used to seed the players.

The upshot of this formula was that it was seen as a slap in the face to many clay court specialists who were seeded much lower than their world rankings. As a result, many refused to play at Wimbledon and we were briefly denied seeing some of the best players in the world on our shores.

Most significantly, Gustavo Kuerten had become world No.1 at the end of 2000 (and had won Roland in 1997, 2000 and 2001) but he was unhappy that he would be seeded significantly lower than his world ranking and so refused to play at Wimbledon in 2001 and 2002.

Home - Advertising - Contact Us
© 2018